Hello everyone!

As many of you will know, I will be extremely busy over the next two months. The Leaving Cert is a looming just around the corner and the amount of study ground I still have to make up before then is unfortunately immense. After a short respite I will then be helping my parents relocate from Cork to Berlin in July however this will most likely not prevent me from writing reviews to the films I already know pretty well.

So then, I regret to announce that from now until Tuesday, June 22nd (Chemistry – last exam and then freedom!) I will be able to write only one more review. That review will be for the new “Robin Hood” film starring Russell Crowe and Cate Blanchett. I’m looking forward to seeing it and will have to review it straight away.

However once the LC hurdle has been jumped I intend to write a good few reviews over the summer months. This may see more than one review a week being posted. ‘Sur how bad… as we might say. Here then is a list of some of the films I hope to review then. This list is by no means definitive, titles may be added and removed as I see fit.

May 2010:

  • Robin Hood (2010)

From June 22nd onwards (In alphabetical order):

  • Amadeus (1984)
  • Atonement (2007)
  • Blood Diamond (2006)
  • Das Boot (1981)
  • Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (2000)
  • Forrest Gump (1994)
  • Gladiator (2000)
  • Independence Day (1996)
  • JFK (1991)
  • The Last of the Mohicans (1992)
  • Rain Man (1988)
  • Saving Private Ryan (1998)
  • Schindler’s List (1993)
  • Se7en (1995)
  • The Shawshank Redemption (1994)
  • Titanic (1997)

As you may have noticed I have not chosen any movies earlier than the 80s. The reason for this is that newer films will generate more interest than old ones however I do intend to review some of the Hitchcock masterpieces such as “North By Northwest,” “Vertigo,” “Psycho,” and “The Birds” at some point in the future.

To all my regular and irregular readers I hope you can bear with me while I complete my exams and look forward to a new batch of reviews in the Summer. “Robin Hood” should be posted next weekend.

So for now it’s adios amigos!

Johannes

P.S. If you have any comments, feedback or indeed exam encouragement (!) feel free to leave a comment. Or if you have any suggestions for other reviews that you think would be important and do not feature on my list please do the same.

